D1P_6718.jpg

A little about me

My Roots

I was born and raised in Southwest Colorado. I grew up a country kid through-and-through. I rode dirt bikes with my dad on the weekend, practiced shooting with my dad and brother, had lots of animals, spent my summers swimming in our ponds with my best friend, and went to small schools. I grew up camping in the mountains, going to the lake, and riding in the desert. It was pretty much the best childhood I could have asked for. At age 16, I began working for my parents' seasonal greenhouse/nursery business that they had just purchased, and I have continued that up to present date.

After high school, I stayed local and went to college at Fort Lewis College graduating Magna Cum Laude with a Bachelors of Arts degree, my focus being Graphic Design. I got a job at the local newspaper where I worked until I had my son. About a year later, I found a job as a contractor at a local company called Mercury Payment Systems. I eventually became a full time employee and have worked for them while continuing to freelance on the side ever since.

My Present

Presently I still work that same company though we have been acquired numerous times in the last six years. My role has remained the same as a graphic designer and I've gotten lots of practice rebranding companies. I have helped develop collateral using new brand guidelines, develop assets for company use, design booth displays for large events all over the world as well as design assets used for the web. After Covid-19 hit, I began working from home, designing everything I did before, however all our events went to virtual events.

I no longer only have my son, but also have a beautiful little girl as well. I love to garden all summer with both flowers and vegetables. My kids and I enjoy campfires, sleeping on the trampoline, working in the yard, riding dirt bikes with my dad, shooting, doing crafts and we're looking forward to doing some home renovations in the next couple years.

My Future

I want to grow as a designer even more and I really want to develop my leadership skills. I would love to learn more of the marketing side of things and perhaps lead a small team. I would ultimately love to work for a company that can tie back into my roots with some of the things I love, or I would love to work with veterans organizations. For now, I am more than grateful for my job during these unbalanced times, but you never know what is around the next turn.